Graduation… Now What?

Hello blogosphere! It’s been almost four months since my last post. Geez, how did that happen?

Jimmy & Jessica at graduation.

Jimmy & Jessica at graduation.

The mood to blog has resurfaced so I will hopefully be posting more often now that summer has arrived.  In the meantime, I thought I’d give a little update on what has happened over the last four months and how I am doing on my 2013 goals.

Celebrating with family and professors (who are also family!).

The most exciting development is that I, along with my husband Jimmy, graduated on May 11 with our Masters of Arts in Biblical Languages!  It took me 3.5 years (while working full-time) but I made it through and finished well.  I am so thankful for the experience and the training I gained while in the MABL program.  I will especially cherish the relationships.  I was blessed with wonderful professors who invited both Jimmy and me into their lives and their homes (and their kitchens!), as well as wonderful sisters and brothers to work alongside in our academic journeys.  God was as he always is, faithful.

IMG_1290

Dr. Will Rutherford, Jimmy, Jessica, and Dr. Phillip Marshall.

TAK Induction Ceremony April 2013

We were also inducted into Theta Alpha Kappa, the National Honor Society for Theological Studies, in April.  Hurrah!

Now that we’ve graduated, a lot of things are up in the air and we will hopefully have some bearing on what direction we will be heading in the next couple of months.  Our long-term goal is PhD work, but we missed the application deadline for admittance this fall since we thought we would be going to South Africa.  Since our plans have changed, we have at least a year to continue studying on our own and get applications ready.

Tigers Game

Me and Dad.

As far as my 2013 goals, I am still working on most of them.  I did preach again back in March at my home church over Luke 15.  I find I really enjoy the process of writing sermons.  We also started a German group up at school and we made some progress until the end of the semester came around and everything got crazy with projects, papers, and (for us) graduation.  I am planning to keep working through April Wilson’s German Quickly over the summer.  Additionally, I am hoping to work through Randall Buth’s Living Biblical Hebrew and Living Koine Greek in the next couple of months.  Lots of language skills to build up!

I have yet to run a 5K… and it’s now almost June in Houston which means I won’t even attempt this until the fall.  In case you didn’t know, it’s pretty miserable outside in Houston from May to September.

My dad came down for graduation and we had a bit of mini-vacation which was much needed!  We saw the Tigers pummle the Astros (Go Tigers!) and spent some down time in Galveston.

It’s nice to have a bit of a breather after grad school, but I definitely already miss being in class with my professors and classmates.  Is it time to go back to school yet?

IMG_1323

Graduation 2013.

 

 

One thought on “Graduation… Now What?

Leave a Reply

