Goals For The New Year…

Each year seems to go by more quickly than the one before. I remember being a kid and certain seasons, like Christmas, seemed to last forever.  The countdown to Christmas would move so slowly it was agonizing! But now days like Christmas come and go in a flash and we are on to the next year. My job also makes the weeks seem to go by faster as my whole schedule is based around quarterly meetings with forty different families (sometimes I wonder if I’ve gotten off schedule because it seems like I see my clients a lot more than four times a year!).

I hope that I will learn to go at a slower pace. So often in a hurry to get to the next point in life — finish grad school, onto doctoral work, find a teaching position — but I don’t want to miss out on life because I wasn’t paying close enough attention to all that God is doing right here and now, even amidst the mundane.  That’s one of my goals for this next year as we enter in 2013: pay closer attention to each day and each moment God has given me.

I am also challenging myself to some other goals:

    • Run a 5k.  If you know me, or at least follow me on Twitter, you won’t be surprised to hear that I am not a runner. No way, no how! But for some reason I have always wanted to be a runner… jogger… speed-walker at least. My mom used to run when I was little. I remember her putting on her classic Reeboks and off she went. I played sports when I was younger, almost everything, but I was never good at running. This year I hope to change that. (And when I say “good at running” I mean I just want to be able to do a 5k and survive… here’s hoping.)
    • Learn German. This has been on my list for a while but this is the year I plan to actually accomplish this goal. The longer you are in school the more you realize that you are going to have to learn German if you want to keep reading books and articles. Even if you can avoid reading a book written in German, you cannot escape that quote that is sneaked in the footnotes of the book or article you are reading for a paper. Whether or not that little footnote is necessary to your studies does not matter, because if you are like me it will simply drive you batty to not be able to read what’s on the page! Oh yeah, and there’s French, too, which I took in high school (but don’t remember much). Still, let’s start with German.
    • Nail down a thesis and/or dissertation topic. This goal is a bit of a must if I want to continue on with school after graduation in May. We (Jimmy and I) are planning (hoping, praying, racking our brains to figure out how) to move to South Africa to study with Dr. Christo van der Merwe at Stellenbosch University.  We will both graduate in May from HBU with a Master of Arts in Biblical Languages but we will not have written a thesis as it is not part of the program. So the plan is to write a thesis and then move on to a dissertation and, Lord willing, get our PhD’s in Ancient Languages (Biblical Hebrew).  I have a general idea of what I’m interested in writing on but I’ve still got a lot of work to do to…

I am sure I have more goals… lose weight, re-learn how to knit, preach another sermon, start writing music again, etc… but these three I’m giving priority.

Good luck with your goals for 2013! I hope you will be encouraged to finally go out and do the things you’ve always wished you could. And most of all I hope that you will grow in double love – may you love God and love people more this new year!

Leave a Reply

